A Year Worth of Shooting Negative Film

Last year, influenced by the articles that I read about street photography using film, I decided to bought myself an old film camera. It was one of my craziest decision because why would anyone still shoot film in this heavily digitized modern world especially in the field of photography? But I still hold on to my guts and took the risk to pursue this niche path that caught my heart.

The rest of the photos below are some of my personal favourites. I don’t want to overshare 🙂 So without further ado, here are the photos. Enjoy!

Routine, Kodak Gold 200
Routine, Kodak Gold 200

San Joaquin, Pasig

I can’t even remember the day when I took this shot but still I have a vivid memory why I took this — the itch to shoot at least once in a while.

Ruckenfigur
Rückenfigur, Kodak Colorplus 200

Mt. Pulag, Pilipinas – November 2016

Rückenfigur is a concept in painting wherein your subject is seen from behind overlooking a scenery.

I’m not a hiker by heart. I don’t even have a proper gear when I hiked this majestic mountain. But my burning desire and drive to discover and be in foreign places made me decide to be part of this journey — to hike the highest peak in the island of Luzon.

Post-golden Hour, Kodak Gold 200

Bulan, Sorsogon

Shot taken in the old port of my beloved hometown. There were even drunkards beside me while I’m taking this one!

Bumblebee spotted! Fujifilm Superia 200
Bumblebee spotted! Fujifilm Superia 200

Lucban, Quezon – May 2016

Old cars like this one never ceases to amaze me.

Getting Ready, Kodak Colorplus 200

Mt. Pulag, Pilipinas – November 2016

Shot taken shortly after doing my number one in nature!

The sun is already peeping its majestic rays in the horizon, getting ready for the grand introductory show of the day. And so are we. We halted our trek, unpacked our weapons (cameras) on our bags and find a good spot to enjoy this grand show.

The Place I Used to Know, Kodak Gold 200
The Place I Used to Know, Kodak Gold 200

Bulan, Sorsogon

There’s always a place that we wanted to visit wherein we can just enjoy the moment of being there, not worrying at all and sometimes honing our ambitious dreams.

I used to own a bike during my childhood days and I always visit these two ports of our hometown after I went home from school. I conclude my day by simply watching the undying beauty of the sunset and enjoying the free sea breeze offered by this place. And I used to believed that this place is the southernmost tip of Luzon!

Path to the Golden Tree, Fujifilm Superia 200

San Joaquin, Pasig

The new path I discovered and somehow a gem in the metro.

There is always a place somewhere that you just want to sit and relax and let time pass you by.

Mistyrise, Kodak Gold 200

Sagada, Mt. Province – July 2016

Sometimes the main show happens at the backstage.

We were suppose to catch the sunrise in Kiltepan Peak in Sagada but we woke up a little bit late. We can already see the rays of the sun illuminating the sky. While we hike the trail, I’m already picturing the sea of clouds that this place is offering. And as we are nearing the summit, I noticed the light of the sun leaking between the pine trees. The misty surroundings gives it an extra layer to make the light softer. And what you see here is the shot that I took moments before we reach the summit. We were not able to have a glimpsed of the sunrise but we were able to witness another main show that this place is secretly offering — if you have an open mind.

Well that’s it! Thank you for reading and have blessed New Year ahead!

Kampai!

Leave a Reply

